RIP, Alan Rickman

http://www.theguardian.com/film/2016/jan/14/alan-rickman-giant-of-british-film-and-theatre-dies-at-69?CMP=share_btn_tw

News of Alan Rickman’s passing broke out yesterday, and I just felt like I had to write a post about it, even though I was not as upset as I had thought I would be, given my huge craze over Severus Snape and Alan Rickman’s perfect portrayal of the character.

So, as I type this, I’m playing the Harry Potter soundtrack – the series that I was so incredibly obsessed over. The above video is a tribute to my favourite character, and the new article link is a tribute to the actor – though he was so much more than that – who made the Severus Snape of my imaginations come to live.

Several times a year, I would be incredibly obsessed over the entire Harry Potter franchise, and more specifically, Snape. As I had mentioned in one of my posts last semester when JK Rowling tweeted about Snape, I had spent years trying to figure Snape’s motives and intentions out before I realised that he was meant to be a grey character, just like how people are in real life.

My first exposure to the Wizarding World was when I watched Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets in the cinema with my mother and sister. I remember being a little afraid of Severus Snape – you know, the strict, black haired professor who always crept around in a black cloak and had a permanent sneer on his face… I remember being confused about Snape’s loyalties when I read the books for the first time, all the way until his story was revealed in the last book. For the longest time ever, I was a huge – like, REALLY HUGE – fan of Severus Snape, and, by extension, Alan Rickman. It was what I read up about all day back in Secondary School, and I wrote an entire page about him for my Y2 Computing class when everyone just used Lorem Ipsum to generate a page of random words.

Alan Rickman brought the Severus Snape of my imaginations to life. In fact, I would say that he was even better than the Snape of my imaginations. His voice and his actions exceeded my expectations – and you know that very rarely happens when you watch a movie after you read the books. My fangirl-ing over Snape was a big part of my childhood, and Alan Rickman was the first celebrity that I liked and actually read up extensively about (unless you count Enid Blyton as well…) I totally had an uncle-crush on him, even though he was 50 years older than me.

But Alan Rickman the actor was so much more than just Severus Snape. He was a giant in the film and theatre industry, and this is such a great loss for the British entertainment industry.

So, thank you, Alan Rickman, for being such a big part of my childhood and for showing me that great things can be achieved as long as you put your heart and soul into it. It has been a great privilege watching you on the big screen, even if it was only through the Wizarding World. Rest in peace, my favourite actor.

 

Now, that said, I must admit that I did not feel as overwhelmed as I expected myself to feel when someone passes away. I was neither upset nor grieved. In fact, I took it in a very matter-of-fact manner. Perhaps this was also because I found out while I was having dinner with my friend, who exclaimed ‘omg’ before showing me the news, which in turn made me expect a shocking revelation.

The thing is, I’ve come to realise and accept the fact that death is an inevitable part of life – people we love (regardless of whether we know each other personally, regardless of our blood relations) are going to leave us one day and there is absolutely nothing we can do to avoid it. If we extend this to our own lives, the only thing we can do is to cherish the present and spend more time with our loved ones before the inevitable happens. (And when it happens, it is pretty much useless to grieve over it).

death_is_but_the_next_great_adventure____by_divinersilacaladhiel-d5k905h

 

Leave a Reply

