Happiness

Sometimes, I really wish I could just live in a place far, far away, a place that only exists in my imagination.

momentum france.PNG

This place looks like it only exists in children’s books, or in paintings. I wish I could just lie on the grass there and enjoy the view and the breeze (hopefully with no insects) and ponder about life at my own pace.

I hate the feeling of losing out to others, or the feeling of not doing enough, or the feeling that my life is in a mess. I wish that there is no standard by which I judge myself, not even one that is set in my mind.

And perhaps that’s why I enjoy watching movies at the cinema so much – and reading books too, just that that takes too long – and also why my favourite genre is Fantasy, even if it’s one that people often associate with kids. I love the feeling of entering another world. Perhaps you may call this escapism, but if it allows me to be happy for 2-3 hours, it’s worth it, right?

I’m going to start my readings right after I end this blogpost. Thinking about it makes me apprehensive, even though I know that I am personally interested in the readings/ topics. I just wish that I could take time to read it without feeling like I’m running out of time.

I wish I could do whatever I want though, without any concern for anything. It’s strange, isn’t it, when we work so hard at school and at work just so that we can enjoy a higher standard of living – yet, the ‘success’ that we get at the end of the day may just not be thing that makes us the happiest that we can be. In retrospect, happiness might just be made up of the simplest things in life, and not things for which we have to slog our lives off.

(As I was typing the last sentence, I had this strong urge to reference yet another quote from Albus Dumbledore: “Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.” This was the quote that I used for my Y6 Memento book, and I think it was a good choice.)

tumblr_mfwslsoJLO1rmv2xao1_500.jpg

everyone who has read Harrypotty needs to watch that 15min compilation of important moments concerning Severus Snape, in chronological order and he’s also the only (or few) character better represented in the films than in the books!!! always knew his story was a tragedy and a legacy but never fully comprehended the extent of that till now…. after the actor himself died 😦 • have read the books and watched the films for more times than I’d care to admit but it’s bc everytime I read it, there’s always something new and some parts stand out more bc of how it relates to whatever I was going through at that point in time. successfully managed to not read/watch them so I could read other things (fiction writers, please up your game) so it’s been awhile but after watching this mini film, three things stood out – 1. We’ve all had our James Potter teenage/childhood moments. It’s okay. 2. Best way to defeat a Boggart (your worst fears / or for me, the many mishaps that I’ve lost count) … Riddikulus!!! (: 3. “Of course it’s happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” – never thought much of this (or didn’t quite understand it) but realise now how much it relates to the whole “if you can dream it, you can do it” and visualization as a tool in sports psych!!! • 

Now that I’ve somehow linked it back to Harry Potter again, I was just reminded of Louisa’s very well-written post on Instagram that I saw 20 mins ago. I really liked what she wrote, especially the last point about Dumbledore’s words at King’s Cross. So here it is, and I hope that I will read it again next time.

Leave a Reply

