Truly, Madly, Deeply

The last time I watched the music video of Truly, Madly, Deeply (by Savage Garden), it made me miss Paris (and France) so. damn. much.

I’m going to Paris in a week, and as much as I’m excited about it, these past 5 weeks in LitHum have made me realise that this beautiful city is not as magical as I had thought it was. And this is coming from someone who never really identified Paris as the ‘city of romance and love and fashion’ etc. I’ve always had a pretty realistic view of the city (as I would like to think), but reading Balzac and Baudelaire have made me realise how much Haussman’s project had influenced our impression of Paris as this city with cobbled streets and beautiful Parisian apartments, with the grand boulevards etc. Alas, this Haussmanization was probably the equivalent of Singapore modernising from kampungs to HDB flats – something which caused a lot of discomfort for people of that time.

I know what I’m tying is not very coherent (because I’m just trying to get my thoughts out so that I can finally start on my weekend’s work at 1:42AM) but ya… modernisation in Paris must have been a very interesting and complicated period.

Leave a Reply

