DOUBLE S 301

IN HAPPIER NEWS, SS501/ DOUBLE S 301 IS BACK. U R MAN, ETERNAL 5, PAIN ETC ETC. I WAITED 6 LONG YEARS FOR THIS.

I WAS ON THE VERGE OF CRYING WHEN I FIRST WATCHED THE VIDEO AT 12AM LAST NIGHT. THIS REACTION IS CONSIDERED SUPER, SUPER MILD GIVEN HOW CRAZY I WAS OVER SS501 BACK IN 2010, when watching their videos would make me laugh hysterically one moment and cry buckets of tears the next before pouring my heart and feelings for them out into a 2-page essay (that’s after I talked about it to my few friends who were willing to patronise me). Plus doodles in my notes (btw, I’m a very realistic fan who has never addressed them as ‘oppas’ and the like) and playing ALL their songs on repeat etc.

I was a hardcore fan, and my loyalty has never wavered (even my friends were surprised by my long-lasting love for them hehe)

SO YES. THEY ARE BACK. THEY, WHOM I’VE SPENT HOURS CRYING OVER, ARE FINALLY BACK.

If I were honest with myself, I would say that the comeback could have been way better – in terms of promotion, video style, budget, catchiness of the song and dance, etc etc. But I’m not ever complaining. I waited 6 years for this, and I’m more than thankful that they have kept their promise even after so long. One reason why I loved them so much was because they seemed very human and very genuine with their boys-next-door image. Honestly, they have never been the best in singing, dancing, acting, or variety, but their imperfection makes them so endearing and so perfect in my eyes, and I could not be happier to see them standing on the same stage again after such a long time.

I wish they could win an award on music shows in recognition of their hard work and their promise and as a tribute to them for their history and legacy, but if they don’t, it’s fine too. They kept their promise to the fans (Triple S!!! Green Peas!!!) and I’m more than satisfied.

It’s not 5, but 3 is better than none. Tonight, I’m a happy fangirl.

Leave a Reply

