I don’t really know the point of this post…

I’ve been thinking about it for a while now, but I realise that I have this strange and inexplicable feeling when I hear the words ‘doctor’, ‘counselling’ and ‘therapist’ etc. Not so much for ‘therapist’ recently, since they don’t feel as personal as the first two, especially if we are talking about physical therapy.

On the other hand, while ‘doctor’ is usually associated with physical conditions as well, seeing a doctor still feels very personal, like you are in a situation where you are vulnerable and weak (I guess that applies both mentally and physically as well).

Counselling is also another service that strikes a similar feeling in me, perhaps because you are revealing your emotional and mental self to someone else.

As I said right at the start, I can’t really explain this feeling – which is also why I haven’t written anything about it despite having thought about it for a while already. I’m definitely not scared of them – I recognise and understand that the associated services can be so beneficial for people.

When someone says “you have to go for counselling”, or “go for therapy”, or “you must go see a doctor” etc, doesn’t it just make you feel weird? To clarify again, it’s not a negative feeling. It’s just strange… Like you are letting your guard down (note: NOT weak), and letting someone else who seems to be in a higher position than you be in control over you (not exactly either though…) I am really unable to describe the feeling, but yaaa.

Leave a Reply

