Useless things that I pile onto the top of my to-do list

Why Protect My Country When My Country Doesn’t Protect Me?

Saw this article above and I realised that recently, I have been more exposed to more ugly sides of Singapore that I had not realised before.

It’s not a nice feeling to realise that the place you see as ‘home’ treats you as nothing more than a source of income and wealth etc. It starts to feel less like a home to which you  have an emotional attachment, but rather, like a house where you return to purely for the sake of having a shelter over your head and for survival. (Also, knowing that despite being a citizen here, you might have financial trouble getting a roof over your head too)

Ok I don’t actually know what my point here is, but I just wanted to say that I’m glad I’m being exposed to the darker sides of life in Singapore. It’s easy to compare with other cities and point out the pros and cons of each. It’s also easy to say that life would be easier in other cities. It’s easy to say that you’ll be treated as a second-class citizen regardless of whether you live overseas or in Singapore (and so you might as well migrate to another country where you might be more comfortable). But to me, as a person born and raised in Singapore, I feel like that’s the very easy way out?? Things might be bad, but escapism would only make things better for yourself and not for others. If you truly care about yourself and your family, this should go beyond the material, right? You would care about your roots and the place where you were raised and you would want to solve the problems here that make this place such an ‘unliveable’ city, right?

Bad English, bad grammar, bad train of thoughts. But I can’t be bothered to rewrite it coherently because there are lots of things waiting to be done and I have to get this off my to-do list anyway.

Leave a Reply

